Posted by: Karen Cogan | 19/01/2014

Goals and Achievements-What a Writer Goes Through

The goal of writing a  book is a big one. The commitment is daunting. I look ahead at 60,000-100,000 words and wonder where they’ll come from. The first thing I do to achieve that goal is to know my characters’ goals, desires and disappointments.I explore them to discover their wants and needs and what they’ll do to achieve them. They must be as real to me as any of my friends. Once, I get into the plot, the words come faster. The goal gets easier to achieve when the characters are writing the story. Of course, there are times when the plot stalls. At those times, I ask myself what would move my story forward. I’m motivated by desire to discover what will happen next. 

Finishing the book is exciting. I love bringing a story to conclusion and feeling satisfied with the ending. Since my novels are inspirational or sweet romance, I can guarantee a happy ending.

Responses

  1. Can relate to this a lot
    Arran

    Like

    • Thanks, Aaran. As writer’s we all face the same goals and obstacles!
      Karen

      Like

  2. A whole book…you’re right, lots of words, lots of thinking, lots of revision. Best wishes!

    Like

  3. Hope it helps that there are hungry ereaders, waiting to be fed with your magical words!

    Like

  4. I admire those who aspire to write as long as 100K. Go for it, Karen.

    Like

    • I’ve only done five novels that long. Keep writing. I look forward to your new work.
      Karen

      Like

  5. That many words is a daunting task. I have no doubt you will reach your goal.

    Like

    • Thanks for the encouragement, Ruth.
      Karen

      Like

  6. Good luck with the next book.

    Like

    • Thanks, Kim.
      I look forward to reading your next novel.
      Karen

      Like

  7. I love happy endings too, Karen!

    Like

  8. I keep trying different methods to keep me going. One year did NaNWrMo–and actually turned it after an additional year into the book to come out this summer. Now am trying plotting thoroughly. Frequently have tried seat-of-the-pants approaches or unfettered inspiration, which doesn’t work for me unless heavily edited.

    Like

  9. You have some great goals, Karen, especially happy endings.

    Like

    • Thanks. I hope to keep them.

      Like

  10. Good luck Karen. It’s true writing a novel is a long winding road, but the sense of satisfaction of writing those two little words THE END is immense.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

